AATOD announces 2016 award recipients | Addiction Professional Magazine Skip to content Skip to navigation

AATOD announces 2016 award recipients

July 25, 2016
by Gary A. Enos, Editor
| Reprints

The American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence (AATOD) has announced the recipients of its 2016 awards, for which a special presentation will take place Nov. 1 at the association's annual conference in Baltimore. AATOD's Richard Lane/Robert Holden Patient Advocacy Award this year goes to Brenda Davis, MSW, who administrators at the Mount Sinai/Beth Israel methadone program credit for resolving patient, staff and family issues within its opioid treatment program (OTP) sites.

Lane and Holden were individuals in recovery who pioneered the development of OTPs, with Lane helping to establish one of the first methadone programs and Holden serving as director of PIDARC, a methadone treatment program in Washington, D.C. Davis has worked as a patient advocate for around 20 years and has served as treasurer of NAMA Recovery.

Among its other award winners, AATOD will honor Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) director Michael Botticelli with its Friend of the Field Award, and 10 individuals will receive the Nyswander/Dole “Marie” Award for improving the lives of patients in the treatment system. The AATOD conference will take place Oct. 29-Nov. 2.