Skip to content Skip to navigation

Trauma and Recovery: The Biology of Trauma and Nervous System Injury

Thursday, September 15, 2016 | 1:00 p.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT

Trauma is often the underlying basis for addictive behaviors and can be the principle reason for the difficulty in maintaining abstinence from addiction. Join this webinar to learn more about an education and treatment model on the impact of trauma on physiology and healing.

Presenter Camille Drachman will explore the different types of trauma, how trauma presents physiologically and strategies and techniques that can be applied effectively by therapists and addiction professionals in their practices that can facilitate a full and healthy recovery for their clients.

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify the different types of trauma and how trauma presents physiologically
  • Discuss functions of the Autonomic Nervous System and the threat response
  • Identify three phases of trauma treatment and treatment objectives for managing nervous system dysregulation

 


CEU Information

The Association for the Addiction Professionals - NAADAC

This course has been approved by Vendome Group, LLC, as a NAADAC Approved Education Provider, for educational credits. NAADAC Provider # 993121, Vendome Group LLC is responsible for all aspects of their programming.

About NAADAC
NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, represents the professional interests of more than 85,000 addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals in the United States, Canada and abroad. NAADAC’s members are addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals, who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support and education. An important part of the healthcare continuum, NAADAC members and its 47 state affiliates work to create healthier individuals, families and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment and recovery support.

 

Camille Drachman, MSW, LCSW, SEP
Trauma Therapist, Manager of Integrative Therapies
Sierra Tucson

 

Camille Drachman, MSW, LCSW, SEP, is currently serving as the manager of integrative therapies of Somatic Experiencing® and EMDR at Sierra Tucson. She is a licensed clinical social worker and Somatic Experiencing practitioner. Camille began working at Sierra Tucson in 2011 and has served as a primary therapist for the Mood & Anxiety and Trauma Recovery programs, as well as a Somatic Experiencing practitioner.

Camille speaks nationally on the physiology of healing and is passionate about helping others heal. She has worked in residential treatment for over 10 years, specializing in addiction, mood disorders, and trauma.